Big Sean – Detroit (Album)

American rapper Sean Michael Leonard Anderson, known professionally as Big Sean has released a new mixtape titled ‘Detroit.’

The new mixtape sees Big Sean collaborating with fellow American artists such as Wiz Khalifa, J. Cole, Kendrick Lamar, Juicy J, Chip Tha Ripper, French Montana and many more.

Big Sean began his music career in 2007 and gained popularity in 2010 with his third mixtape Finally Famous Vol. 3: Big.

Big Sean then signed a recording contract with GOOD Music and Def Jam Recordings and released his debut studio album, Finally Famous in 2011, which included the US top 10 single “Dance (Ass)” (featuring Nicki Minaj).

Big Sean followed it with his second album, Hall of Fame (2013), while his third album, Dark Sky Paradise (2015), debuted atop the US Billboard 200. It also included the hit singles “I Don’t Fuck with You” (featuring E-40) and “Blessings” (featuring Drake and Kanye West).

On October 31, 2016, Big Sean released “Bounce Back” as the lead single from his fourth studio album, I Decided, which was released February 3, 2017. “Moves” was released as an instant-grat on December 16, 2016. Sean consulted the advice of Jay Z and Rick Rubin while working on the album.

Big Sean achieved his second number one album on the Billboard 200 chart, as I Decided debuted at the top. It earned 151,000 equivalent album units in the week of February 9, according to Nielsen Music. 65,000 of the amount were in pure album sales. As of April 18, 2017, I Decided was certified gold.

Two months after the release of I Decided, Big Sean was offered the official Key to the City of Detroit for his contribution to his own Sean Anderson foundation.

On November 3, 2017, Sean and Metro Boomin released the single “Pull Up N Wreck”, featuring 21 Savage. A month later, it was announced that Sean and Metro were to release a collaborative album titled Double or Nothing. The album was released on December 8, 2017, which included features from Travis Scott, 2 Chainz, 21 Savage, Kash Doll, Young Thug, and Swae Lee, and included the single “Pull Up N Wreck”.

In 2017, Big Sean voiced the character of Terrence for an episode of HBO’s animated series Animals.

On March 25 (Big Sean’s 32nd birthday), he announced that his new record would be titled Detroit 2. On August 25, he released the album’s lead single, “Deep Reverence”, featuring late rapper Nipsey Hussle.

Later on in the year, Big Sean starred in the animated movie Trouble (also known as Dog Gone Trouble), alongside Pamela Adlon and Lucy Hale. The movie was directed by Kevin Johnson.

Detroit 2 was released on September 4, 2020, and features collaborations with Eminem, Jhené Aiko, and Lil Wayne. The album debuted at number one on the Billboard 200, marking his third number-one album.

On September 17, 2020, Big Sean revealed in a Reddit AMA that another Twenty88 album is “in the works”. A track attributed to the project appeared on Detroit 2. He has also announced that he plans on launching his own record label.

On October 29, 2021, Big Sean announced on Twitter that after 14 years, he has stepped away from Kanye West’s G.O.O.D. Music label, saying “That’s a forever brotherhood, but business wise, I had to start getting a bigger cut! I worked my way out that deal.” West also claimed during a November 2021 Drink Champs podcast that signing Sean was the ‘worst decision’ of his entire career.

Starting in 2020, Big Sean has appeared in the Showtime series Twenties in a recurring role as Trsitan, an anti-social media character who learns the value of online connection.

In October 2021, Big Sean, in collaboration with rapper and producer Hit-Boy released an EP entitled What You Expect.

In February 2022, Big Sean and singer Queen Naija released a single entitled Hate Our Love. The song will appear of Naija’s upcoming album. In that same month, Big Sean confirmed the Twenty88 album and revealed he was collaborating with girlfriend Jhené Aiko.

Big Sean Detroit Tracklist:

  1. Higher
  2. 24k of Gold (feat. J Cole)
  3. More Thoughts (2019)
  4. Story By Common
  5. How It Feel
  6. Woke Up (feat. SayItAintTone, Earlly Mac, Mike Posner & James Fauntleroy)
  7. Experimental (feat. Chip Tha Ripper & Juicy J)
  8. Mula (feat. French Montana)
  9. Story By Young Jeezy
  10. 100
  11. Sellin’ Dreams (feat. Chris Brown)
  12. I’m Gonna Be (feat. Jhené Aiko)
  13. FFOE
  14. Story By Snoop Lion
  15. RWT
  16. Once Bitten, Twice Shy
  17. Life Should Go On (feat. Wale)
  18. All I Know (feat. Wiz Khalifa)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.