Lizzo – Special (Album)

American singer, rapper and songwriter Melissa Viviane Jefferson known professionally as Lizzo has released her fourth studio album, “Special.”

“Special” was released through Nice Life and Atlantic Records on July 15, 2022. The album was preceded by the lead single “About Damn Time”, released on April 14, 2022.

Lizzo released her third studio album and major-label debut studio album, Cuz I Love You, on April 19, 2019. The album was met with critical acclaim and peaked at number 4 on the Billboard 200 chart.

The album was nominated for Album of the Year at the 62nd Annual Grammy Awards, contributing to Lizzo receiving the most nominations at the ceremony. The album also won the award for Best Urban Contemporary Album.

In October 2020, Lizzo announced that her fourth studio album was nearing completion, saying she had “a few more songs to write”. In January 2021, American singer SZA confirmed to have heard new material from Lizzo. In August 2021, Lizzo announced “Rumors”, her first song after two years, which was released on August 13. The standalone single features American rapper, singer, and songwriter Cardi B.

During her keynote speech at the South by Southwest festival in March 2022, Lizzo announced that her album was finished, saying “It’s done so it’s coming very very soon…and it’s good. I worked real hard on it, so it better be good.”

In an interview with Zane Lowe for Apple Music 1 in April 2022, Lizzo explained that the album was originally titled In Case Nobody Told You until Max Martin helped her “restructure” the hook of the song “Special”, which she then changed the title of the album to.

On March 21, 2022, Lizzo previewed the single “About Damn Time” on The Late Late Show with James Corden, with a release date of April 14. Shortly after the release of the song and its accompanying music video, Lizzo formally announced Special, with a release date of July 15.

On June 10, “Grrrls”, the first promotional single from the album, was released. On July 6, Lizzo revealed the tracklist of Special on her Instagram account by showing the back cover of its vinyl packaging.

In another interview with Zane Lowe on Apple Music 1 in July 2022, Lizzo talked about the origins of the track “Coldplay”, with Coldplay lead singer Chris Martin appearing in the interview as well. The track features a monologue by Lizzo where she talks about a recent vacation in which she “was with somebody, and I was just looking at the stars. And I was with him, and I was singing [“Yellow”].”

Lizzo Special Tracklist:

  1. The Sign
  2. About Damn Time
  3. Grrrls
  4. 2 Be Loved
  5. I Love You Bitch
  6. Special
  7. Break Up Twice
  8. Everybody’s Gay
  9. Naked
  10. Birthday Girl
  11. If You Love Me
  12. Coldplay
  13. A Very Special Message From Lizzo

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.